Rory McIlroy named 2012 Professional of the Year by the IGWA

Rory McIlroy

Rory McIlroy

Rory McIlroy has been voted ‘Professional of the Year’ in the Irish Golf Writers’ Awards for 2012.

The 23-year old from Holywood won the US PGA in record-breaking fashion at Kiawah Island in August, his second Major Championship and one of five victories he recorded worldwide in a season when he also captured the money titles on both sides of the Atlantic and became Irish golf’s first world number one.

This is McIlroy’s third time to win the ‘Professional of the Year’ award, having also won in 2009 and in 2011, when he shared the honour with Darren Clarke.

The amateur awards were also captured by Ulster golfers. Alan Dunbar of Rathmore Golf Club was voted the ‘Men’s Amateur of the Year’ following his win in the Amateur Championship at Royal Troon while Royal Portrush’s Stephanie Meadow claimed the ‘Women’s Amateur of the Year’ award following an outstanding season.

Having helped the University of Alabama to its first team national title in the NCAA Championships in Tennessee in May, Ms Meadow secured the decisive point for Great Britain and Ireland in a dramatic Curtis Cup victory over the United States at Nairn before going on to capture Ladies British Amateur Open title at Carnoustie.

Cork-born businessman Oliver Barry, who started his career in the music industry as an impresario and concert promoter, is the recipient of the ‘Distinguished Services to Golf’ award.

Mr Barry’s vision of providing affordable and challenging golf to the people of Dublin led to the founding of Hollystown Golf Club, Ireland’s first pay and play golf course, in 1992.

The recipients will receive their awards, which have been specially designed for the Irish Golf Writers’ Association (IGWA) by Tipperary Crystal, at an Awards Dinner sponsored by Carton House Golf Club in Maynooth on January 24.