A fitting accolade for veteran Fred Daly

A fitting accolade for veteran Fred Daly

Fred Daly, the only Irishman to win the British Open Championship and one of the greatest golfers to grace the scene in these islands in the post-war era, has won the Distinguished Service Award in a ballot by members of the Irish Golf Writers' Association writes Edmund Van Esbeck.

Mary Gorry takes second Irish Golf Writers' award

Irish champion Mary Gorry (Baltinglass), who won the Irish Golf Writers' Association award last year as the outstanding woman golfer, has again been voted the winner in that category this year, writes Edmund Van Escbeck. She thus has the distinction of being the first person to win two IGWA awards.

Inaugural IGWA awards for Darcy, Branigan, McKenna and Haslett

The Irish Golf Writers' Association awards for 1976 have been won by Eamonn Darcy (professional), Declan Branigan (amateur), Mary McKenna (women) and Miss Violet Haslett (distinguished service).

The winners were named following a ballot among members of the IGWA and will be presented with their awards, which are sponsored by Sterling Roncroft, at a dinner in Milltown on January 10th.